Lower Periyar Hydroelectric Project

lower periyar hydroelectric project.jpg

Lower Periyar Hydroelectric Project is located in the Idukki District in Kerala. The power project was commissioned in 1997 with an installed capacity of 180 Megawatt. The type of project is major since the total capacity is greater than 25 Megawatt. The type of powerhouse is Surface and its status is functional.

The water sourced from Periyar River is used for the generation of current in the power station. The Basin for the power project is west flowing rivers and the hydroelectric region is South Hydroelectric Region. The Run of River pondage is the Hydroelectric Development Type. The power plant is owned by the State Government of Kerala. The operating company of the power plant is Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB).

The beneficiary states of power plant are Kerala and its neighbouring states. The power project was completed in 1997 and soon it started its operation. The total number of turbines in the power plant is three and capacity per each turbine is 60 MW. The type of turbine used is francis. The maker of both Turbine and Generator of the Power Plant is Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited. There are 3 units in operation and all the units are commissioned. The commissioned date of the 3 units are 27 September 1997, 22 October 1997 and 28 November 1997 respectively. The unit size of the power plant is 3 units of 60 MW each, so the total capacity is 180 MW.

How to Reach: The Lower Periyar Hydroelectric Project is located in the Idukki district of Kerala. You can reach this destination via Road, Rail or Air. The nearest railway station is at Kottayam which is located at about 114 km from Idukki, whereas Kochi International Airport is the nearest airport. Frequent buses are available from the Idukki bus station to the power house.

Project Details:

• Hydroelectric Project Name – Lower Periyar Hydroelectric Project

• Commission Date – 1997

• Approved Capacity in MW – 180 MW

• Installed Capacity in MW – 180 MW

• Type of Project – Major (greater than 25 Megawatt)

• Type of Powerhouse –Surface

• Status of Powerhouse – Functional

• Water Source – Periyar

• Basin – West flowing Rivers

• Hydroelectric Region – South HE Region

• Hydroelectric Development Type –Run of River in Small Pondage

• Owner –Government of Kerala

• Operating Company – Kerala State Electricity Board (KSEB)

• Address –Idukki District, Kerala

• District – Idukki

• State – Kerala

• Contact Number – +91 (471) 244 6480 (Thiruvananthapuram)

• Email –

• Website – www.kseb.in

• Beneficiary States/ Union Territories – Kerala and Neighbouring States

• Completion of Power Project – 1997

• Number of Turbines – 3

• Capacity per Turbine – 60 MW

• Type of Turbine – Francis

• Turbine Manufacturer – Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited

• Generator Manufacturer – Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited

• Unit Sizes – 180 MW (3 x 60 MW)

• Total Units – 3

• Units Commissioned – All units are commissioned